Do you know who your elected officials are? Do you know who is running?

The 2024 elections are monumental for Miami-Dade County. We will elect leaders who will impact the future of our region.

This year, Miami-Dade County residents will vote for several county commissioners, county mayor, and four newly elected county positions.

Discover who currently represents you and who aspires to represent you!

Learn more about each office, their roles, and responsibilities.

Miami-Dade County Mayor

The County Mayor is the chief of the Miami-Dade County government’s executive branch. Miami-Dade’s mayor directly oversees numerous important county functions, including transit and transportation, public and affordable housing, water and sewer, police, and solid waste, to name a few. The Mayor is also responsible for implementing policies and directives of the Miami-Dade County Commission and manages an $8.9 billion budget.

You will vote for Miami-Dade County’s Mayor during the 2024 Primary Election in August.


Current Mayor & Candidate:

Daniella Levine Cava

Manny Cid headshot

Candidate: Manny Cid


Candidate: Shlomo Danzinger


Candidate: Carlos Garin


Candidate: Alexander Otaola

Miami-Dade Board of
County Commissioners

The Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners is the governing body of unincorporated Miami-Dade County and has broad, regional powers to establish policies for Miami-Dade County services. The Board of County Commissioners is the legislative branch of the Miami-Dade County government. County Commissioners are nonpartisan elected officials responsible for voting on countywide legislation, making zoning decisions in unincorporated areas, and enacting the County’s annual budget. The County Commission is divided into 13 distinct geographic districts, with one Commissioner representing each district. Find your district, and then learn about the candidates below.

You will vote for Miami-Dade County’s Commissioners during the 2024 Primary Election in August.

County Commissioner, District 1

District 1 includes Opa-Locka, Miami Gardens, California Club, Ives Estates and Country Club Lakes.


Current Commissioner & Candidate:

Oliver Gilbert

This candidate ran unopposed and has been automatically re-elected as
County Commissioner for District 1.

County Commissioner, District 3

District 3 includes Liberty City, Little Haiti, Overtown, the Upper East Side, Edgewater, Buena Vista, Allapattah, Wynwood, San Marco Island in the City of Miami, Brownsville, Biscayne Shores Park, Village of El Portal, and Village of Miami Shores.


Current Commissioner & Candidate:

Keon Hardemon


Candidate: Marion K. Brown


Candidate: Audrey Edmonson

County Commissioner, District 5

District 5 includes parts of Miami Beach, Downtown, Brickell, Coral Way neighborhoods the Roads, Silver Buff, and Shenandoah, as well as Little Havana and West Flagler.


Current Commissioner & Candidate:

Eileen Higgins

This candidate ran unopposed and has been automatically re-elected as
County Commissioner for District 5.

County Commissioner, District 7

District 7 includes Key Biscayne, part of Brickell, Coconut Grove, Coral Gables, South Miami, Pinecrest, and Kendall.


Current Commissioner & Candidate:

Raquel Regalado


Candidate: Richard Praschnik

Cindy Lerner

Candidate: Cindy Lerner

County Commissioner, District 9

District 9 represents South Dade.


Current Commissioner & Candidate:

Kionne McGhee

This candidate ran unopposed and has been automatically re-elected as
County Commissioner for District 9.

County Commissioner, District 11

District 11 includes Country Walk, Hammocks, Kendale Lakes, Bent Tree, and  Lakes of the Meadows.


Current Commissioner & Candidate:

Roberto J. Gonzalez was appointed by Governor Ron DeSantis as the Miami-Dade County Commissioner for District 11 on Nov. 23, 2022.


Candidate: Bryan Paz Hernandez

County Commissioner, District 13

District 13 includes Hialeah, Miami Lakes, Palm Springs North, and parts of unincorporated Miami-Dade.


Current Commissioner & Candidate:

René Garcia

This candidate ran unopposed and has been automatically re-elected as
County Commissioner for District 13.

Miami-Dade Sheriff

Miami-Dade County is set to elect a Police Sheriff for the first time since 1966, marking an important milestone in our community. As the county’s top law enforcement officer, the Sheriff plays a crucial role in maintaining public safety and upholding the law. They oversee the operations of the sheriff’s department, including deputies and other personnel responsible for various law enforcement tasks, such as patrols, investigations, and jail management.

Elected by the county residents for a typical term of four years, the Sheriff holds jurisdiction over areas outside towns or cities, while police chiefs handle law enforcement within municipal limits. Collaborating with other law enforcement agencies, including city police departments and state troopers, is vital for effective crime prevention and response efforts. Ultimately, the Sheriff’s primary objective is to ensure the safety and security of all residents and communities within Miami-Dade County.

You may vote for your party’s Miami-Dade Sheriff candidate during the 2024 Primary Election in August. The Sheriff will be selected during the General Election in November.

Property Appraiser

The Property Appraiser of Miami-Dade County is responsible for determining the value of hundreds of real estate properties throughout the county for taxation purposes. This involves conducting property inspections, researching market data, and maintaining accurate records of assessments. They address inquiries from property owners, administer exemptions, and collaborate with tax authorities. Additionally, they oversee the appeals process and educate the public about property tax assessment procedures while ensuring compliance with relevant regulations.


Tomás P. Regalado

Tax Collector

The Tax Collector of Miami-Dade County is responsible for keeping accurate records of tax collection, administration, and spending. They also create and distribute forms for collecting the Miami-Dade County Convention Development Tax.

You will vote for Miami-Dade County’s Tax Collector during the 2024 Primary Election in August.

Supervisor of Elections

The Supervisor of Elections in Miami-Dade County holds significant responsibilities. They manage one of Florida’s largest election operations, overseeing more than 30 federal, state, and municipal elections annually. With a constituency of over 1.5 million registered voters, they supervise the processing of 500,000 mail-in ballots and coordinate operations at 33 early voting locations. On Election Day, they manage 754 precincts in the county to ensure smooth and efficient countywide elections.

You will vote for Miami-Dade County’s Supervisor of Elections during the 2024 Primary Election in August.

About Vote Miami

The Miami Foundation is committed to advancing trustworthy information to increase civic engagement across Greater Miami. We power Vote Miami in partnership with a host of devoted community partners. Established in 2020, this regional initiative was initially led by Radical Partners in collaboration with Florida Counts, Knight FoundationMiami Herald, and The Miami Foundation. This year, we have over a dozen partners collaborating on to host and moderate candidate forums. Check here for a full list of our amazing partners